CCBCO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCBCO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • You need 70% on each required exam - Lending Compliance and Deposit & Marketing Compliance.
  • Lending Compliance is 150 questions in 3 hours; Deposit & Marketing Compliance is 50 questions in 60 minutes.
  • Combined, the two exams total 200 questions and 4 hours - but they are scored separately, not as one test.
  • The 150:50 question split is a raw count ratio, not an official weighted scoring breakdown from ICBA.

The Actual Passing Threshold

If you're preparing for the Certified Community Bank Compliance Officer (CCBCO) credential, the number that matters most is simple: 70%. That is the passing threshold on each of the two required exams administered through the ICBA Education and Certification Board's online portal. There is no sliding scale, no curve mentioned in the published materials, and no separate "overall" score that averages the two exams together - you need to clear 70% on each one independently.

What ICBA has not published is a credential-specific pass rate. You may see broad ICBA-wide pass rate language floating around in marketing materials, but that figure is not specific to CCBCO candidates, and it shouldn't be treated as a predictor of your odds. If you want a deeper look at what's actually known (and not known) about pass outcomes, see our breakdown in CCBCO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

No Public Pass Rate: Unlike some credentials that publish historical pass percentages, the CCBCO program does not disclose a credential-specific pass rate. Treat any pass-rate number you see outside official ICBA sources with skepticism.

Two Exams, Two Separate Scores

A common misconception is that CCBCO candidates sit for one long exam. They don't. The certification requires two distinct, separately scored exams:

  • Lending Compliance: 150 questions, 3-hour time limit
  • Deposit & Marketing Compliance: 50 questions, 60-minute time limit

Add those together and you get 200 total questions and 4 total hours of testing time - but that combined figure describes two separate sittings, not a single four-hour marathon exam. ICBA's published materials allow candidates to take the two exams in separate sittings, which matters when you're planning your study calendar and your travel or scheduling logistics around the CCBCO exam dates and testing windows.

Key Takeaway

Because the two exams are scored independently, you must hit 70% on Lending Compliance AND 70% on Deposit & Marketing Compliance. Passing one with a high score does not offset a weak score on the other.

What Actually Counts Toward Your 70%

Exactly how the exams are structured internally - including whether any items are unscored pretest questions mixed into the 150 or 50 - is not detailed in publicly available ICBA materials. What is confirmed is the outer shell: 150 scored-and-possibly-unscored items in Lending Compliance, 50 in Deposit & Marketing Compliance, and a 70% passing threshold on each. Candidates should not assume every question counts equally toward the final percentage, since the exact scored/unscored split has not been verified in public documentation.

This uncertainty is one more reason to over-prepare rather than calculate your margin too precisely. If you're the type who likes to map a study plan against known item counts, start with our CCBCO Study Guide 2026, which walks through how to structure review sessions around the two exam components rather than guessing at internal scoring mechanics.

Format Details Still Unverified: Whether questions are purely multiple choice, whether a calculator is provided, and whether the platform is adaptive have not been confirmed in public ICBA documentation. Build your prep assuming a traditional closed-book, fixed-form exam, and confirm specifics directly with ICBA before test day.

Domain Breakdown: Lending vs. Deposit & Marketing

CCBCO candidates prepare across two named content areas, which align directly with the two required exams:

Domain 1: Lending Compliance

This is the larger of the two exams by question count - 150 of the combined 200 items, or 75% of total items. That ratio is a simple count-based calculation, not an officially published weighted score breakdown from ICBA. Still, it signals where the bulk of your study time should go.

  • Core lending compliance regulations covered in the October 2026 institute curriculum
  • Application of compliance requirements to real community bank lending scenarios
  • Documentation, disclosure, and process-level compliance obligations tied to lending activity

Domain 2: Deposit & Marketing Compliance

This exam covers 50 of the 200 combined items - 25% by raw count. It's shorter in both question count and time limit (60 minutes versus 3 hours), but don't mistake "shorter" for "easier." A 70% threshold applies here exactly as it does on the longer exam.

  • Deposit account compliance obligations relevant to community banks
  • Marketing compliance considerations tied to deposit products and bank communications
  • Cross-functional overlap between deposit operations and compliance oversight

For a fuller walkthrough of what each domain actually covers topic by topic, see CCBCO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 2 Content Areas. It's worth noting that ICBA has not published an official weighted domain breakdown with percentages - the 75%/25% split referenced above is calculated from the 150:50 question-count ratio, not stated outright as a scoring weight. Treat it as a planning signal, not a guarantee of how points are distributed.

ExamQuestionsTime LimitPassing ScoreShare of Combined Items
Lending Compliance1503 hours70%75% (calculated)
Deposit & Marketing Compliance5060 minutes70%25% (calculated)
Combined Total2004 hours70% on each100%

Testing Conditions That Affect Your Score

A few operational details directly affect how you should prepare, even though they don't change the 70% threshold itself:

  • Closed book, no outside resources: Both exams are closed book with no reference materials allowed during testing. You cannot lean on notes, a regulation binder, or outside tools once the clock starts.
  • Uninterrupted sittings: Each exam is intended to be completed in one uninterrupted sitting, though candidates may take the two required exams in separate sessions rather than back-to-back.
  • Completion deadline ambiguity: ICBA materials reference an October 16 completion deadline, but published pages show conflicting cutoff times - noon versus 5 p.m. Central Time - on the same page. Confirm the exact cutoff directly with ICBA before you finalize travel or scheduling plans.
  • Pre-institute coursework: A required pre-institute Compliance Management System course, plus full institute attendance and completed assignments, are prerequisites before you even sit for either exam. See CCBCO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for the full prerequisite picture.
Confirm Before You Commit: Because the deadline, calculator availability, and proctoring format are not clearly or consistently documented in public ICBA materials, candidates should contact ICBA directly to confirm these operational details before registering or scheduling travel around the October 2026 institute.

Scheduling Prep Around the Score You Need

Since Lending Compliance makes up the larger share of combined questions (150 of 200) and carries the longer time limit (3 hours versus 60 minutes), most candidates allocate more total study hours to that domain simply because there's more tested material to cover. That doesn't mean you should neglect Deposit & Marketing Compliance - you still need 70% on it independently, and a 60-minute exam leaves less room to recover from early missteps or slow pacing.

A reasonable approach many candidates use:

Early Weeks

Lending Compliance Foundations

  • Work through the lending-side material from the October 2026 institute curriculum first, since it represents the bulk of the combined 200 questions
  • Build familiarity with lending compliance scenarios before moving to timed practice
Middle Weeks

Deposit & Marketing Compliance

  • Shift focus to the 50-question, 60-minute exam content
  • Practice under a tight timer since this exam offers far less buffer than the 3-hour Lending Compliance exam
Final Weeks

Full Closed-Book Simulation

  • Run closed-book practice sessions with no outside resources, mirroring actual testing conditions
  • Review weak areas from both domains rather than over-rehearsing only your stronger domain

If you want structured practice questions mapped to this kind of timeline, our practice test platform is built around the two named CCBCO exam components rather than generic compliance trivia. For candidates deciding whether a more traditional study methodology (spaced repetition, timed blocks) fits their schedule, the CCBCO Study Guide covers that in more depth.

Key Takeaway

Don't split your study time 50/50 between domains just because there are two exams. Weight your early prep toward Lending Compliance given its larger question count, but don't under-prepare for Deposit & Marketing Compliance - the same 70% bar applies regardless of exam length.

After You Pass: Keeping the Credential Active

Hitting 70% on both exams gets you the credential, but it isn't a one-time achievement you can set aside. To keep CCBCO active, credential holders must complete 30 relevant continuing professional education (CPE) credits every two years, with at least half of those credits earned through live instruction, plus pay a $150 annual fee. ICBA materials specify no double-counting of credits across renewal periods, so plan your CPE sourcing accordingly.

Budgeting for this ongoing commitment matters as much as budgeting for the exam itself. For a full cost picture - tuition tiers, the $500 certification exam fee, and total estimated spend before travel - see CCBCO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. And if you're still weighing whether the investment makes sense for your career path, Is the CCBCO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CCBCO Salary Guide 2026 dig into that question in more detail.

Maintenance Isn't Optional: A passing score only gets you through the door. Staying "active while maintained" requires ongoing CPE and an annual fee - factor this into your long-term planning, not just your exam-day strategy.

Once you understand exactly what the passing score requires - 70% on each separately scored exam, closed book, with Lending Compliance carrying the heavier question load - the next useful step is pressure-testing your readiness. Spend time with realistic practice questions on our practice test platform before you commit to an institute date, and cross-check your understanding of exam difficulty against our How Hard Is the CCBCO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 so your expectations match the actual testing experience rather than assumptions borrowed from other certifications.

FAQ

What score do I need to pass the CCBCO exams?

You need 70% on each required exam - Lending Compliance and Deposit & Marketing Compliance. They are scored separately, so you must clear 70% on both, not just on average.

Is the CCBCO exam one test or two?

Two separate exams: Lending Compliance (150 questions, 3 hours) and Deposit & Marketing Compliance (50 questions, 60 minutes). Combined they total 200 questions and 4 hours, but they are not administered as a single four-hour test.

Does Lending Compliance count for more of my final score?

Lending Compliance makes up 75% of the combined 200 questions by raw count, but this is a calculated ratio from question counts, not an officially published weighted scoring breakdown from ICBA. Each exam still has its own independent 70% passing threshold.

Can I use a calculator or reference materials during the exam?

Both exams are closed book with no outside resources allowed. Calculator availability and other platform-specific settings have not been publicly verified, so confirm directly with ICBA before test day.

What happens if I pass but let my CPE lapse?

The credential is active only while maintained. That requires 30 relevant CPE credits every two years (at least half live) plus a $150 annual fee, with no double-counting of credits between renewal periods.

Ready to pass your CCBCO exam?

Put this into practice with free CCBCO questions across every exam domain.