- Overview: Two Exams, Two Content Areas
- Domain 1: Lending Compliance
- Domain 2: Deposit & Marketing Compliance
- How the Two Areas Are Weighted
- Exam Format, Timing, and Rules
- Who Needs to Master Each Domain
- Scheduling Your Prep Around the Two Exams
- Fees, Deadlines, and Maintenance
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CCBCO has exactly two required exams: Lending Compliance (150 questions, 3 hours) and Deposit & Marketing Compliance (50 questions, 60 minutes).
- Combined, candidates face 200 questions across 4 total hours, taken as two separate, closed-book sittings.
- Lending Compliance accounts for 150 of 200 total items (75% by count), but ICBA has not published this as an official scoring weight.
- Both exams require a 70% passing score; the credential-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed.
Overview: Two Exams, Two Content Areas
The Certified Community Bank Compliance Officer (CCBCO) credential, issued by the Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA), is organized around two named certification examinations rather than a long list of weighted knowledge domains. That distinction matters for how you prepare. Instead of treating "exam domains" as abstract percentages pulled from a blueprint, CCBCO candidates should think in terms of the two expressly named exams listed in ICBA's certification catalogue: Lending Compliance and Deposit & Marketing Compliance.
This guide breaks down what each exam actually tests, how the question counts compare, and what that means for how you allocate study time. If you haven't yet reviewed the baseline eligibility picture, start with our CCBCO requirements overview before diving into content specifics here.
Domain 1: Lending Compliance
The Lending Compliance exam is the larger of the two required exams: 150 questions administered in a 3-hour window. Because it carries the majority of total test items, it deserves the majority of your preparation hours too - a point we expand on in our CCBCO study guide.
This exam area corresponds to the lending-side content covered during the ICBA institute leading up to the exam. Candidates should expect material connected to how community banks originate, underwrite, document, and monitor loans in a compliant manner. Given the institute's structure, expect coverage that reinforces compliance management principles as they apply specifically to lending functions.
Lending Compliance
What candidates must understand: how lending compliance obligations are applied inside a community bank's day-to-day lending operations, and how a compliance management system framework extends into loan origination, servicing, and review.
- Application of compliance principles across the lending lifecycle, from origination through servicing
- How a Compliance Management System (the required pre-institute course topic) connects to lending-specific risk
- Recognizing compliance issues embedded in lending scenarios rather than memorizing isolated rule citations
- Working through 150 scored and/or unscored items within a 3-hour closed-book window without outside references
Because ICBA has not verified the exact scored-versus-unscored split or item format for this exam, candidates should prepare for a mix of question styles rather than assuming a single format. Pacing matters here: 150 questions in 3 hours leaves limited room per item, so timed practice is essential. Our sister resource on how hard the CCBCO exam really is goes deeper into pacing pressure specific to this longer exam.
Domain 2: Deposit & Marketing Compliance
The second required exam, Deposit & Marketing Compliance, is shorter and faster: 50 questions in a 60-minute sitting. Don't mistake its smaller footprint for lower stakes - the same 70% passing threshold applies, and the compressed timeframe means less room to recover from a slow start.
Deposit & Marketing Compliance
What candidates must understand: compliance obligations tied to deposit products and the marketing/advertising practices community banks use to promote them.
- How compliance requirements apply to deposit account operations
- How marketing and advertising practices intersect with compliance obligations for deposit products
- Completing 50 questions in a 60-minute window - roughly a minute or less per item, on average
- Applying the same closed-book, no-outside-resources rule that governs the Lending Compliance exam
Because this exam has a hard 60-minute ceiling, time management is arguably more consequential here than content depth. Many candidates find the lending exam intellectually harder, but the deposit/marketing exam harder to pace. Treat it as its own discrete sitting rather than an afterthought tacked onto lending prep.
Key Takeaway
Prepare for Lending Compliance and Deposit & Marketing Compliance as two separate examinations with separate pacing demands - not as one combined four-hour test. ICBA confirms the 200 questions and 4 hours are totals across two sittings, and separate sittings are allowed.
How the Two Content Areas Are Weighted
A common question candidates ask: "What percentage of the CCBCO exam is lending versus deposit/marketing?" The honest answer is that ICBA has not published official domain weights for this credential. What we can state is a calculated ratio based purely on question counts: Lending Compliance contributes 150 of the 200 total combined items (75%), and Deposit & Marketing Compliance contributes the remaining 50 (25%).
| Attribute | Lending Compliance | Deposit & Marketing Compliance |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 150 | 50 |
| Time allotted | 3 hours | 60 minutes |
| Share of combined 200 items | 75% (calculated, not official) | 25% (calculated, not official) |
| Passing threshold | 70% | 70% |
| Format | Closed book, no outside resources | Closed book, no outside resources |
Resist the temptation to treat that 75/25 split as an official scoring weight - ICBA has explicitly not verified it that way; it's a count-based calculation, not an issuer-stated blueprint. For a fuller walkthrough of exactly what scoring looks like on each exam, see our dedicated CCBCO passing score breakdown.
Exam Format, Timing, and Rules
Both CCBCO exams share the same administration rules even though their lengths differ dramatically:
- Delivered through ICBA's own online portal - no external third-party testing provider is named
- Closed book with no outside resources permitted during either sitting
- Each exam is uninterrupted once started
- Separate sittings are allowed, meaning you don't have to complete both exams back-to-back on the same day
- Calculator access, adaptive question delivery, and live-proctoring settings are not publicly verified - confirm current settings directly with ICBA before test day
There's also a scheduling wrinkle candidates should be aware of: ICBA's published materials list an October 16 completion deadline, but public pages show conflicting cutoff times - noon versus 5 p.m. Central Time - on the same page. Don't assume either time; confirm directly with ICBA before your final day. Our CCBCO exam dates article tracks this conflict and any updates to it.
Who Needs to Master Each Domain
CCBCO is designed for community bank professionals working in or around compliance functions - the kind of role where lending and deposit/marketing compliance knowledge both come into play regularly, even if day-to-day responsibilities lean toward one side more than the other. ICBA has not published a universal degree, work-year, or reference minimum for enrollment, but full institute attendance, completed assignments, and the required pre-institute Compliance Management System course are expected components of the pathway.
If your current role is heavily lending-focused (loan review, underwriting oversight, lending compliance analyst), you'll likely find Domain 1 content more familiar going in, but you still need deliberate time on Domain 2 given its compressed 60-minute format. Conversely, deposit operations or marketing-compliance staff should not assume the shorter exam means lighter preparation - fewer questions means each mistake costs more percentage points.
For a broader look at how this credential fits into a compliance career path and what the credential is used for in practice, see what CCBCO certification actually is and our overview of CCBCO jobs in the community banking sector.
Scheduling Your Prep Around the Two Exams
Because CCBCO's content is split into exactly two named exams with very different time pressures, a generic weekly study template doesn't map well here. Instead, anchor your schedule to the exam structure itself.
Lending Compliance depth work
- Work through institute lending materials and compliance management system concepts as they apply to loan origination and servicing
- Run timed practice blocks that simulate the 3-hour, 150-question pace
- Flag any scenario-based question style that feels unfamiliar for review
Deposit & Marketing Compliance sprint
- Concentrate on deposit product compliance and marketing/advertising rules
- Practice under a strict 60-minute clock to build pacing instinct for 50 questions
- Review weak areas identified during full-length timed runs
Mixed review and logistics
- Alternate short review sessions between both exam areas
- Confirm your completion deadline time directly with ICBA given the noted scheduling conflict
- Take full-length timed practice runs on our practice test platform to rehearse both exam formats back to back
This sequencing - heavier, earlier emphasis on the 150-question Lending Compliance exam, followed by a focused sprint on the shorter Deposit & Marketing Compliance exam - reflects the actual question-count split rather than an arbitrary calendar. For additional tactics on retention and review cadence, our first-attempt study guide expands on technique without repeating the domain-specific scheduling above.
Fees, Deadlines, and Ongoing Maintenance
Content mastery is only part of the equation - budgeting and timing matter too. The October 2026 institute lists tuition of $2,999 for members, $3,899 for non-members, and $4,799 for non-bankers, plus a separately listed $500 certification exam fee, bringing calculated totals to roughly $3,499, $4,399, and $5,299 respectively before travel costs. A full breakdown lives in our CCBCO certification cost guide.
Once certified, maintaining the credential requires 30 relevant continuing education credits every two years, with at least half earned live, plus a $150 annual fee. Credits cannot be double-counted across requirements. None of this changes the two-exam content structure covered above, but it's worth planning for alongside your study timeline - and alongside whatever return-on-investment calculation you're running. See our ROI analysis and salary guide for that broader context.
Before committing to a registration date, double check current information directly against ICBA's official pages, since past cohort dates don't guarantee a verified future registration window. If you want a condensed, printable reference while you study, our one-page CCBCO cheat sheet summarizes the two-exam structure and key numbers covered in this guide. You can also run full-length, timed drills for both exam areas on the main CCBCO practice test platform to build familiarity with pacing before test day.
Frequently Asked Questions
CCBCO is built around two expressly named certification examinations - Lending Compliance and Deposit & Marketing Compliance - rather than a numbered list of weighted domains. ICBA has not published an official weighted blueprint beyond these two exams.
No. That split is calculated from the 150-question and 50-question counts on each exam, not an issuer-published scoring weight. Treat it as a planning reference, not a guaranteed grading formula.
No. Lending Compliance (150 questions, 3 hours) and Deposit & Marketing Compliance (50 questions, 60 minutes) are separate examinations. The combined 200 questions and 4 hours are totals across both exams, and separate sittings are allowed.
A 70% passing threshold applies to the required exams. ICBA has not publicly disclosed a credential-specific pass rate, so plan your prep around the scoring threshold itself rather than any assumed difficulty benchmark.
No. Both exams are closed book with no outside resources permitted, and each exam runs uninterrupted once started. Calculator availability and other administration settings are not publicly verified, so confirm current rules with ICBA ahead of your test date.